Quick Links

Quick Links

St Mary's Walk, Shirehampton, Bristol BS11 9RR

0117 903 1447


Shirehampton Primary School

Structure and remit including committees and names of chairs

Governors are one of the largest volunteer forces in the country and have an important part to play in raising school standards. The role of the governing body (GB) is absolutely key to the effectiveness of a school.

School governors provide strategic leadership and accountability in schools. Governors appoint the head teacher and deputy head teacher. It is the governors who hold the main responsibility for finance in schools, and it is the governors who work with the head teacher to make the tough decisions about balancing resources.

Each individual governor is a member of the governing body, which is established in law as a corporate body. Individual governors may not act independently of the rest of the governing body; decisions are the joint responsibility of the governing body.

The role of the GB is a strategic one, its key functions are to:

  • set the aims and the objectives of the school
  • set the policies for achieving those aims and objectives
  • set the targets for achieving those aims and objectives
  • monitor and evaluate the progress the school is making towards achievement of its aims and objectives
  • be a source of challenge and support to the head teacher (a critical friend)

The head teacher is responsible for the internal organisation, management and control of the school and the implementation of the strategic framework established by the GB.

The Governing Body meets as a full governing six times a year. Additionally every term the Finance and Resources committee meets as does the Teaching and Learning committee.

As part of their statutory duties there are named governors who are responsible for monitoring strands of the work of the school.

The Chair of Governors is Mrs Becky Macfarlane.

The Vice Chair is Ms Emma Young.

Named Governors and Committee Structure Membership

sps link governors committee structure membership details june 23.pdf